• Accessibility Options
  •  

22/12/2020

Christmas Holiday Arrangements

Arrangements for our services and facilities over the Christmas Period. 

REGISTRATION
Registration appointments can be made online here. 
The following opening hours apply to Antrim Civic Centre and Mossley Mill for registration appointments only.
 
Day & Date Cemetery Office Opening Hours Registration Opening hours
Thursday 24 December 9am - 1pm 9am - 1pm
Friday 25 December CLOSED CLOSED
Saturday 26 December CLOSED CLOSED
Monday 28 December  9am – 12noon 9am – 12noon
Friday 1 January CLOSED CLOSED
 
LEISURE CENTRES
Our leisure facilities will close from Thursday 24 December (inclusive) for the Christmas holidays. Following the NI Executive’s recent announcement, our leisure facilities will remain closed for six weeks. All membership fees have been suspended until further notice. Don't forget our online catalogue of FREE fitness classes, MORE Live is available to help you keep MORE Active, MORE often. Click here for details. 
 
ANTRIM CASTLE GARDENS
The shop, Coffee Shop and Galleries at Clotworthy House will close at 2pm Thursday 24 December and following the NI Executive’s announcement on Thursday 17 December,  will remain closed for a minimum of six weeks. Antrim Castle Gardens will remain open as green space for people to take daily exercise.

PLAY PARKS
Play parks remain open. 

WASTE & RECYCLING
Recycling Centres – Closed Friday 25 December, Saturday 26 December and Sunday 27 December
All 5 Household Centres will re-open on Monday 28 December at 9am with appointments remaining in place at O’Neill Road and Crumlin.  ID required at all Recycling Centres. Click here to book.
 
Temporary Waste Recycling Facility - A temporary waste disposal facility will be in place at the Valley Leisure Centre Car Park from Monday 28 – Thursday 31 December from 9am – 5pm. Residents of the Borough will be able to bring their excess waste and recycling to the bin lorry which will be temporarily located in the car park. Pre-booking for this facility is not required however identification and proof of residency in the Borough will be checked upon arrival.
 
Bin Collections – Changes below apply to Newtownabbey. There are no changes to Antrim area.
 
  NEWTOWNABBEY ONLY
Normal Collection Day Your Brown or Black Bins if due will now be collected on Your Wheelie Box will now be collected on
Friday 25 December Monday 28 December Sunday 27 December
Monday 28 December Tuesday 29 December As normal
Tuesday 29 December Wednesday 30 December As normal
Wednesday 30 December Thursday 31 December As normal
Thursday 31 December Saturday 2 January As normal
Friday 1 January Monday 4 January Saturday 2 January 2021
Monday 4 January Tuesday 5 January As normal
Tuesday 5 January Wednesday 6 January As normal
Wednesday 6 January Thursday 7 January As normal
Thursday 7 January Friday 8 January As normal
Friday 8 January Saturday 9 January As normal
 
All bin collection dates are available here.
Kerbside collections provided by Bryson Recycling are available here. 
 
COMMUNITY CENTRES
Community Centres (excluding the Dunanney Centre) will be closed for public bookings from Monday 21 December – Sunday 3 January (inclusive). The Dunanney Centre will close from Thursday 24 December – Sunday 3 January (inclusive). Facilities will re-open on 4 January to provide essential services only, such as childcare for key workers.
 
IMPORTANT CONTACTS
Dog Warden - T. 028 9034 0178

Sign up for Updates

Sign up to hear the latest news and event information from Antrim and Newtownabbey Council.