• Accessibility Options


New Mayor and Deputy Mayor appointed

New Mayor and Deputy Mayor appointed at Antrim and Newtownabbey Annual Meeting

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council held its Annual Meeting this evening (Monday 27 July) at the Theatre at the Mill complex. At the meeting, Councillor Jim Montgomery, UUP was appointed Mayor and Councillor Noreen McClelland, SDLP was appointed Deputy Mayor for the incoming year.
The new Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor Jim Montgomery commented

“I am honoured to be elected as Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey and I look forward to serving the Borough over the next year. I would like to pay tribute to my colleagues Alderman Smyth and Councillor Logue for their contribution, in particular during the last few months which have been extremely challenging.”

The AGM also confirmed the new Chair and Vice-Chair of the following Committees who will serve until June 2021:
Audit Committee
Chair: Councillor Vera McWilliam
Vice-Chair: Councillor Alison Bennington
Community Planning and Regeneration
Chair: Councillor Mark Cooper
Vice-Chair: Councillor Michael Goodman
Operations Committee
Chair: Councillor Robert Foster
Vice-Chair: Alderman Thomas Burns
Planning Committee
Chair: Alderman Tom Campbell
Vice-Chair: Councillor Sam Flanagan
Policy and Governance Committee
Chair: Alderman Phillip Brett
Vice-Chair: Councillor Neil Kelly
A full list of Councillors and their contact details can be found on the Council’s website: www.antrimandnewtownabbey.gov.uk/councillors

Sign up for Updates

Sign up to hear the latest news and event information from Antrim and Newtownabbey Council.