• Accessibility Options

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council Logo


New Year Honours List 2022

The New Year Honours List for 2022 was recently published which recognises the achievements and service of extraordinary individuals across the United Kingdom.We are extremely proud that residents from our own Borough were included in the list.

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council’s very own, now retired, Head of Parks Ivor McMullan, has been awarded a British Empire Medal (BEM) for public service during Covid-19.  Throughout the pandemic Ivor was involved in management of burials, ensuring they were conducted safely and respectfully in line with restrictions.  He also co-ordinated the community effort to plant and water summer bedding to ensure that colour was brought to the Borough during the most difficult times.

We are delighted that several other residents of our Borough are also included on the New Year Honours List.Mr Jonathan Rea MBE, was awarded an OBE for services to motorcycle racing.Jonathan was previously awarded an MBE and on 15 January 2019, the Honorary Freedom of the Borough of Antrim and Newtownabbey was conferred upon the then, four-time World Superbike Champion.

Mr Paul Mark Johnston, Head Coach and Project Manager for Monkstown Amateur Boxing Club was awarded an MBE for services to sport and the community in County Antrim.Ms Mary Louise McIlwee, Family Caring Centre Manager, was also awarded and MBE for services to mental and physical wellbeing to vulnerable people in County Antrim.

Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor Billy Webb said;

“Being recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours List is a superb achievement for all of the individuals on the list and I would like to pass on my congratulations. I would like to especially congratulate those from our Borough and those who contribute to the lives of our residents. These prestigious awards demonstrate the hard work and dedication each of the recipients have to their services. These recognitions is something they should be extremely proud of.”


To view the full Honours list visit https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/new-year-honours-2022