• Accessibility Options

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council Logo


A Royal Award for Local Volunteers

Volunteers from Monkstown Community Association were presented the prestigious Queen’s Award for Voluntary Services at a special ceremony held in the Courtyard Theatre, Ballyearl on Friday 20 January 2023. 

The group received their award from the Lord Lieutenant of County Antrim, Mr David McCorkell, for their efforts in developing a range of projects to benefit their local community.

Created in 2002 to mark the anniversary of the Queen’s Coronation, The Queen’s Award recognises the outstanding work done in local communities and the  dedication of local people to local causes. It is the highest civic award given to local volunteer groups across the UK and is considered to be the MBE for volunteer groups.

Welcoming guests to the event, Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Alderman Stephen Ross said;

“I extend my warmest congratulations to the Chairperson, Committee and Volunteers of Monkstown Community Association, for the contribution that you have made, and continue to make, to the local community.  Over the last 21 years, the group have offered an inclusive programme for the local community providing activities and support for all ages, abilities and backgrounds.  I am truly honoured to be present at your celebrations.”

Monkstown Community Association provide a Good Morning Service, a Kids Club and partnership initiatives with the deaf community. All projects have taken place in Monkstown Jubilee Centre which the group manage and run on a voluntary basis with over 20 volunteers.

The centre is open six days a week and offers an inclusive programme managed by the volunteers and external groups who rent the main hall, offering the local community a range of activities for all ages, abilities and backgrounds - including health and well-being initiatives, parents support groups, arts & crafts classes, youth activities, information, training courses and support.

For further information on the group please contact Clare Patterson (Treasurer) 07592754818 or Councillor Mark Cooper (Vice-Chair) 07771332108.