• Important Notice
  • May Bank Holiday Arrangements
  • Accessibility Options

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council Logo


New Mayor and Deputy Mayor appointed

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council held its Annual Meeting this evening (Tuesday 30 May) at the Theatre at The Mill.

At the meeting, Elected Members nominated Councillor Mark Cooper BEM of the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) as Mayor and Councillor Rosie Kinnear Sinn Fein (SF) as Deputy Mayor for the incoming year.
As the First Citizen of the Borough, Councillor Cooper represents the Three Mile Water District Electoral Area, and he will serve as Mayor until June 2024. He will be joined by Councillor Rosie Kinnear who represents the Glengormley District Electoral Area.

The new Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Councillor Mark Cooper BEM said; 

“It is an honour and privilege to be elected as Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, I look forward to my term in office and serving the people of our Borough. I would like to pay tribute to my colleagues Alderman Stephen Ross and Councillor Leah Smyth for their exemplary work in the past year.”

The AGM also confirmed the new Chair and Vice-Chair of the following Committees who will serve until June 2024:
Audit and Risk Committee
Chair: Councillor Michael Goodman
Vice-Chair: Councillor Ben Mallon
Community Planning and Regeneration
Chair: Councillor Taylor McGrann
Vice-Chair: Councillor Roisin Lynch
Operations Committee
Chair: Councillor Jay Burbank
Vice-Chair: Vera McWilliam

Planning Committee
Chair: Councillor Robert Foster
Vice-Chair: Henry Cushinan
Policy and Governance Committee
Chair: Alderman Lynda Clarke
Vice-Chair: Councillor Michael Stewart