• Accessibility Options

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council Logo

Organisation Structure

Chief Executive's Office

Richard Baker GM MSc



Director of Parks and Leisure Operations

Matt McDowell
Responsible for Parks, Leisure and Property Services. 

Director of Finance and Governance

Sandra Cole
Responsible for Finance, Rates Estimates, Internal Audit & Risk Management, Elections, Payroll,  Procurement, ICT, Digital Transformation, Information Governance,  Freedom of Information Requests & Data Protection, Member Services, Mayor’s Office, Corporate Health and Safety and Resilience, Insurance and Capital Development.

Director of Econmic Development and Planning

Majella McAlister
Responsible for leading the implementation of the Council’s Economic Development Strategy, prioritising key initiatives which will drive inclusive economic growth along with the social and physical development and regeneration of the Borough. The Planning function is well placed in this Directorate which is also responsible for the production of the new Local Development Plan.

Director of Sustainability

Michael Laverty
Responsible for Waste, Environmental Health, Fleet Management and Sustainability.


Director of Corporate Strategy

Helen Hall 
Responsible for supporting the Chief Executive to lead and deliver the overarching strategic framework for the Council.


Director of Organisation Development

Jennifer Close
Human Resources, Performance Improvement, Organisation Development,  Customer Service,  Equality, Diversity and Inclusion and Safeguarding.

Director of Community Planning, Community Planning

Ursula Fay
Responsible for Community Planning, Development and Safety, Good Relations, EU Programmes, Arts, Culture, Tourism and Events, Business Support and Administration and Marketing.