• Accessibility Options


New Mayor and Deputy Mayor appointed at Antrim and Newtownabbey AGM

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council held their first Annual General Meeting (AGM) of its second term this evening (Monday 13 May), confirming the election of Alderman John Smyth, DUP as Mayor and Councillor Anne Marie Logue, Sinn Fein as Deputy Mayor for the incoming year.

As the First Citizen of the Borough, Alderman John Smyth, DUP represents the Antrim District Electoral Area and will preside as Mayor until June 2020. He will be joined by Councillor Anne Marie Logue, Sinn Fein who resides over the Airport District Electoral Area.
The Mayor of Antrim and Newtownabbey, Alderman John Smyth commented “I would like to thank everyone who served in the last Council and I would like to welcome the new members on board. I look forward to serving this Borough as Mayor over the next year. I would like to pay tribute to those members who did not   return to Council and thank them for their service over the past year.”
The AGM also confirmed ten new Aldermen, an honour given to Councillors in recognition of their dedicated service. Aldermen for the new term of office are:
Alderman Fraser Agnew, UUP
Alderman Philip Brett, DUP
Alderman Thomas Burns, SDLP
Alderman Thomas Campbell, Alliance
Alderman Mark Cosgrove, UUP
Alderman Mandy Girvan, DUP
Alderman Thomas Hogg, DUP
Alderman Danny Kinahan, UUP
Alderman Julian McGrath, Alliance
Alderman John Smyth, DUP
Chairman and Vice Chairman of the following Committees who will serve until June 2020 were also elected as follows:
Audit Committee
Chairman: Councillor Michael Goodman, Sinn Fein
Vice Chairman: Councillor Victoria McAuley, Alliance
Community Planning and Regeneration
Chairman: Councillor Vera McWilliam, UUP
Vice Chairman: Councillor Paul Dunlop, DUP
Operations Committee
Chairman: Alderman Julian McGrath, Alliance
Vice Chairman: Councillor Mark Cooper, DUP
Planning Committee
Chairman: Alderman Philip Brett, DUP
Vice Chairman: Councillor Roisin Lynch, SDLP
Policy and Governance Committee
Chairman: Alderman Thomas Hogg, DUP
Vice Chairman: Alderman Danny Kinahan, UUP
The recent Local Council Election appointment of 12 new Councillors and 28 returning Councillors, making a total of 40 elected representatives for Antrim and Newtownabbey.
A full list of Councillors and election results can be found on the Council’s website: www.antrimandnewtownabbey.gov.uk/elections

Sign up for Updates

Sign up to hear the latest news and event information from Antrim and Newtownabbey Council.